When the same email address is entered in multiple locations, a relationship is established so that if the email address is edited in one location, it is updated anywhere else the same email address exists. Essentially, the accounts become linked. This often happens unintentionally, when two contacts are given the same email address, or when a student and contact share an email address. When this link exists, trying to edit the email address for one user results in changing the other user’s email address too.
To break the link and give each user a separate email address, delete the email address from one user. The email address will only be deleted from that one location, breaking the link, and allowing you to add a new email address without affecting other users.
Student/Contact email addresses can be deleted in two places:
- (School District) Admin Main > Students - Single View > Contacts/Family
- (School District) Admin Main > Communication > Email Addresses